Presentation Evening 2023

The envelopes were sealed, the awards printed and the cups polished. Last week, after a two year absence due to Covid, we were delighted to host our annual Presentation Evening again.

Miss Read giving her Year Head’s View

Mr Atkin, our College Director welcomed everyone then handed over to Miss Read who gave her Year Head’s view of the group, reminiscing over the highlights of their time at the College, the challenges they faced  and overcame, and their successes.

Students were then invited up on to the stage to collect their examination certificates from their tutor. As they did, each student was celebrated with details of the qualifications they achieved, Norfolk Scholar status and their current situation, whether that be at university, on an apprenticeship, in employment or on a gap year. Norfolk Scholar is a special recognition given by the County Council to students who achieve a high points score by getting a minimum of two A* or A grades and one C, or one A*, one A and two Bs, or two Distinctions and one Merit on BTEC courses. We were thrilled that 56 students this year achieved that status.

Following this, the anticipation grew – it was time to announce the winners of the subject and College awards! Each winner received their subject award as special recognition for their excellent attainment, achievement and attitude in their course and you can find a list of winners below:

Lewis Atkins: Business Studies

Hannah Reid, Abbie Robinson, Zoe Bell

Rhys Bandy: English Language and Literature
Joshua Barrell: Economics
Bailey Barrett: Psychology
Zoe Bell: Graphics & Photography
Ellie Burnage: Law
Liam Chapman: Maths
Joseph Creed: Physics
Jack Davis: Children’s Play, Learning and Development
Rosie Davis: Drama and Theatre Studies & English Literature
Sophia Djiakouris: Sociology

Joshua Barrell, Bailey Barrett, Luke Towers

Britney Faria: Chemistry & Spanish
James Gavin: Computer Science & Further Maths
Evette Graham: French
James Hill: History
Grace Prothero-Gibbs: Biology
Howe Reade: Law
Hannah Reid: Fine Art
Abbie Robinson: Art, Craft and Design
Lorretta Sommese: Philosophy and Ethics
Hallie Taylor: Media Studies

Hallie Taylor, ClaraBelle Whitehead, Sophia Djiakouris, Grace Prothero-Gibbs

Jude Taylor: Geography
Luke Towers: Sport
Matthew Way: PE
ClaraBelle Whitehead: Music
Millie Williamson: Health and Social Care

Each of the College awards recognises special achievement in different areas:

The Director’s Prize for Academic Excellence is awarded to the student with the highest point score from all of their qualifications completed while at Dereham Sixth Form College. This year’s winner is James Gavin.

Mrs Cheeseman’s Award for Achievement is awarded to the student with the highest overall value-added score. Value-added is a measure of progress, comparing the grade attained by a student with the grade they were expected to attain. This year’s winner is Ellie Burnage.

The Richardson Cup for Student Endeavour is awarded to the student who has performed excellently in their A Levels, despite having to cope with circumstances outside of College that are particularly challenging. This year’s winner is Eleanor Aspinall.

The Lion’s Club Award for Community Service is awarded to the student who has contributed most to the local community during their time at the College. This year’s winner is Isabel Last.

The O’Grady Prize for Contribution to Sixth Form Life is awarded to the student who has shown great enthusiasm for getting involved in everything they can in the time they are at College. This year’s winner is Abby Redwood.

The DESA Certificate of Outstanding Achievement in Sport was awarded to Ashton Fox in recognition of his outstanding achievement of signing with Peterborough United.

Eleanor Aspinall, Abby Redwood, Isabel Last

The evening concluded with refreshments in the Library and a chance to catch up with students, staff and parents. We wish every one of our students the greatest success in all they do.